Search
Click to Buy!
Blog Index
The journal that this archive was targeting has been deleted. Please update your configuration.

Hissy Fitz is no pussycat

"Gr 2–4—This smartly written beginning chapter book introduces young readers to a cat named Hissy. Hissy Fitz, to be precise (he takes his human family's last name). The play on words is a sound one, since Hissy is about to lose it, as he is desperate for a nap. Readers will chuckle along as they see a day played out from Hissy's point of view. ... With its short chapters, snappy dialogue, and fast-moving plot, this book will be popular with newly independent readers who enjoy Megan McDonald's "Stink" books, Suzy Kline's "Horrible Harry" titles, Hilary McKay's "Lulu" series. " —School Library Journal
"Young fans of YouTube's Grumpy Cat will be smitten with Hissy, the crabby feline hero of Jennings's latest animal tale." —Publishers Weekly

 

Now Available in Paperback:

 

KIRKUS BEST OF 2014

"At last: a humorous, useful and pedantry-free book about bullying!" —Kirkus Reviews, starred

"...a delightful book, one that stands with classics such as Avi's Poppy. A remarkable story and a great read-aloud." School Library Journal

 

Also Available: 

BOSTON GLOBE BEST BOOK OF 2014

"The key to the series’ success is Jennings’s great story-telling skills, with a sly sense of humor that never flounders or fails. Even his least likeable characters are lovable, and the lovable ones are enchanting. Animal lovers will adore the book—lovers of fantasy will appreciate the far-out leaps of faith." —The Boston Globe
"Youngsters will eagerly jump in for another fast, fun read." —Kirkus Reviews
"Another cute and laugh-out-loud entry in the series." —School Library Journal